Summer in Columbia, Missouri

Our summer plans… Mizzou, Stephens, and Columbia College have all had their graduation ceremonies and many students have moved away for the summer. We’ve already noticed the change: there’s more parking, you can get a table at Cafe Berlin for brunch … Continue reading

Favorite Books of the Year – 2015

Despite what people may think, owning your own bookshop doesn’t mean that you get to read all day.  In fact, Joe has probably read less in a year than he ever has… which is probably a good sign for the business (things are going really well and we’re really busy!) but it’s murder on his page count.  What’s his page count you ask? Well… as truly obsessed readers can tell you, not only do you keep a count of how many individual books you’ve read, you also keep track of how many pages you’ve read.  (Author’s note: I only keep track of how many books, NOT how many pages)

However, we were both still able to read enough to still call ourselves book lovers.  So here are our favorite books we’ve read this year.

a yellow lab stares up at her owner,  a dark bearded light skinned man.

Joe’s Top 5 Favorite Books:

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry, by Gabrielle Zevin

Hardboiled Wonderland and the End of the World, by Haruki Murakami

The Night Gardener, by Jonathan Auxier

Ready Player One, by Ernest Cline

The Man in the High Castle, by Philip K. Dick

 

BEST OF THE BEST:

A tie between…

red background with yellow block letters that say ready player one Ernest Cline a novel. a yellow sky over maroon water/liquid with an imagined structure in the background. The words The Man in the High Castle Philip K. Dick is in the top third of the image.

Ready Player One, Ernest Cline

Set in the not too distant future, this novel tells the story of the Oasis, a virtual reality world that provides relief for the unpleasant reality of Wade, aka Par7ival. When the creator of the Oasis dies, his will reveals a contest: the individual who solves a series of puzzles within the virtual world will inherit the whole thing. Both an homage to 1980s nerd culture (Wargames, D&D, Monty Python, Joust) and a reasonable glimpse into a dismal future, Ready Player One will transport you and thrill you.

and

The Man in the High Castle, Philip K. Dick

The Hugo Award winner from 1962, this novel feels as fresh as ever – like most of PKD’s work. The novel’s hook is its setting: an alternate history in which the United States lost World War II and was divided between Germany and Japan. The novel mostly takes place in Japanese-occupied San Francisco, but quickly demonstrates it is much more than an alternate history novel. Dick ruminates on the concepts of authenticity of artifacts, fate and the I Ching, and the nature of reality itself.

woman holding a book in front of her face inside a bookshop. The title of the book is The Awakening by Kate Chopin.

Kelsey’s Top 5 Favorite Books:

Hold Still: A Memoir with Photographs, Sally Mann

Dumplin’, Julie Murphy

We Were Liars, E. Lockhart

Improbable Theory of Ana & Zak, Brian Katcher

How I Live Now, Meg Rosoff

BEST OF THE BEST:

book cover shows a black and white photograph of clouds with a image of girl in 50s style shorts & shirt jumping in the air.

Hold Still: A Memoir with Photographs, Sally Mann

A beautifully written memoir about family, land, growing up in the south, art, poetry, photography, and controversy. I was fascinated by her upbringing, her relationship with artist Cy Twombly, and her photographic process. But where I connected the most with this book is when she talks about being both an artist and a mother, which historically, most male artists haven’t had to balance. Much like her honest, real, and meticulously rendered photographs, Mann’s memoir is a picture into how an artist is created.

 

 

Independent Bookstore Day!

   We met working in an independent bookstore in California at Kepler’s Books & Magazines. The Bay Area is flush with independent bookstores like Books Inc., Green Apple Books, City Lights, Santa Cruz Bookshop, and so many more. What we … Continue reading

Favorite books of the year- 2014

As Joe and I trekked up to his parents’ house in Normal, IL with both kids in tow, we started talking about books. I know, what are the odds that two people who own a bookshop would start talking about books?

At the end of the year we usually tally up how many books we’ve read (Joe keeps a page count as well, which I find slightly insane and charming all wrapped up together). This year we each had a couple of books stand out for us.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/8dc/55071248/files/2014/12/img_4336.jpg

On Joe’s list:
1. Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, by Robin Sloan
This is what happens if you cross Douglas Coupland with Neal Stephenson. A recently unemployed web designer falls back on his first love (books) when he notices a help wanted sign in a very unusual bookstore in San Francisco. Discovering a puzzle hidden in the mysterious volumes of the store’s tall stacks, he creates a program to solve it, only to find greater puzzles waiting. A great read for people who love both books and technology, but love books more.

2. The Cat’s Table, by Michael Ondaatje
Traveling by ship from Ceylon to England, a boy falls in with a motley assortment of passengers: two other boys his own age, a slightly seedy pianist, a gardener of exotic plants, and others. The narrator looks back at his 1950s self with a mix of wonder, nostalgia, and regret as he ponders the effects of this voyage on the lives of his friends. This novel is Ondaatje at his best, blending colorful characters, stories within stories, and lyrical but economic prose to rebuild a magical time and place.

3. Blythewood, by Carol Goodman
In Blythewood, author Carol Goodman revisits New York’s Hudson Valley, the setting of many of her adult novels, in her first YA/teen fantasy. In 1911, a young garment worker named Avaline Hall discovers there is more to her world than she knows – just as she is plucked from her hardscrabble life by her wealthy grandmother, she finds a world of wonder and danger at Blythewood, a boarding school that trains young women to defend humanity from dark and fantastic creatures. Blending real world events (the Triangle fire) with fairy tales come to life, Goodman builds a compelling story perfect for fans of Libba Bray.

And for Kelsey (me):
1. Eleanor & Park, by Rainbow Rowell
Set in 1986, this is the story of two teens who bond over music and comic books while riding the bus to school every morning. Eleanor has fiery red hair and dresses in old hand-me-down clothes. Park, half Korean & half white, dresses in black and loves punk music. Eleanor is different, and Park is both nervous for her and intrigued by her. Park is different, and Eleanor is drawn to his inner confidence and charmed by his “normal” family.
I thought the writing was good- particularly the back-and-forth repartee between the two, as well as Eleanor’s interior monologue. The heavier plot lines regarding abuse and poverty were handled beautifully. I really loved this book!

2. The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt
Theo Decker recounts his life story – including how he managed to steal, or rescue, a famous painting during a terrorist attack on a museum. The writing is wonderful, with the turns of phrase that only Donna Tartt can pull off. I love stories that bring in many different elements that seem random but then are brought back and essentially become the most important parts of the plot.

3. The Weight of Blood, by Laura McHugh
Written by a local (Columbia, Mo) author, this eerie crime novel takes place in the Ozark mountains. Lucy Dane is grappling with the murder of her friend, another high schooler in their small town.  As Lucy begins to uncover the grisly truth about her town, friends, and family, the truth about her mother’s disappearance 16 years before is revealed.  This book reminded me of Tana French & Gillian Flynn’s stories, in which the history of the characters becomes just as important as the current storyline.  It reminds us that our past experiences are never fully dealt with, but come back for us to search through as new situations trigger their echoes.

Bean Reads

Image

Our daughter, Sally (also known as Bean), is 5 1/2 and loves being read to.  She isn’t quite reading on her own yet, but it will probably happen any day now and when it does… she’ll be unstoppable.  After reading to her from Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle’s Magic this evening, we discussed which stories (from all of the books) are her favorite and so she made a list (which included much giggling when she recalled what each story is about).  If you haven’t heard of Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle… well, you’re missing out.  She is, in short, a very kind woman who understands how children are and always has time to listen to their stories, dreams, and problems.  Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle lives in an up-side down house, has buried treasure in her backyard and always keeps & displays prominently, the strange and lumpy gifts that children make for her.  As Bean says, “she’s just really magical and solves problems.”

Bean’s favorite Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle stories, in order:

1. The Thought-You-Saiders Cure from Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle’s Magic

Hilarity ensues when three siblings are constantly mishearing things that their parents say.  Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle recommends a magical powder that intensifies their hearing which quickly solves the problem. 

2. The Radish Cure from Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle

A little girl refuses to take a bath/shower and on the advice of Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle, her parents let her get nice and dirty so that they can plant little radishes in her layers of dirt.  All problems are solved when the radishes start to grow off of her skin and she begs to take a shower! 

3. The Won’t-Pick-Up-Toys Cure from Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle

A little boy needs to be fed by rake and garden hose via his bedroom window when his toys take over his room and he can’t get out of his bedroom door.  But when Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle comes by his house with a marching band and a parade, he quickly sees the error of his ways and cleans up his mess.

4. The Slow-Eater-Tiny-Bite-Taker Cure from Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle

Bean’s favorite part is when Allen, the boy who won’t eat more than a spoonful at meals, is so weak that he lays across Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle’s horse, Spotty.  Allen is described as a sack of cornmeal, a doughboy, & a wet sock because he so pale and weak from not eating.  Bean rolls with laughter at each descriptor.

5. The Messy Stuff-and-Cram Cure from Happy Birthday Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle

Poor Katy is essentially attacked by all of the stuff she’s messily crammed into every corner, drawer, box, & closet of her room after Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle consults with her parents.  Katy goes from a crammer of stuff to folder of clothes & an organizer of things- much to the happiness of her parents.  

 

The Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle stories were written by Betty MacDonald.  Our favorite editions have drawings by Maurice Sendak (Where the Wild Things Are) & Hilary Knight (Eloise).  I find that I need to edit some of the gendered language out (little girls can be more than future housewives, after all) but on the whole they are very funny.  My mom was listening as I read to Bean tonight and I couldn’t help remembering when she read these to me when I was little- definitely a series to pass along through the generations.

Image